Feeding your Spirit

There are so many tools we have available to feed our spirits. Books (I’m an advocate for the Bible being a constant, Gods living word), music, podcasts, preaching, teaching….This morning my daughter played a song for us on the drive to school. The lyrics talked about walking through difficult things but feeling gods presence in the midst of it. In my family alone we are all going through our own valleys. That draws me to conclude that everyone has a valley they are walking through. But I was reminded today of Gods word (the BREAD for our spirit) that says even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil for you (God/”Daddy”) are with me. (Psalm 23:4)

Surrender. Put your hands up when your on the roller coaster, try not to grip the bar. Coming from someone who is terrified and has to convince myself to actually get on the ride! But once, I tried it, I let go. I relaxed and I didn’t grip or fight the twists and turns, I surrendered. And I felt invigorated!!! Will I be scared next time? Absolutely! But I hope to surrender sooner, remembering my experience.

The key, you have to know the character/makeup/construction of what you are putting your faith in. Know it’s reliable and trustworthy. That comes through the feeding…. reading, studying, meditating, praying.
Feed your spirit!

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light onto my path.”  Psalm 119: 105

Leave a Reply

